Note: The next novel in the series, The Shape of Darkness (Heavy Lies the Crown), is now available for pre-order!
Caution the evil seated on the East throne.
Caution the wraiths who hunt the shadows alone.
Caution the darkness that crosses your sight.
For you, my Queen, are the fearless starlight.

On any normal evening, Amala Ashcroft, Queen of the Shadow People, would feel honored by a God’s presence. But Fate, one of the four Divine Gods, does not visit for pleasantries. He visits to save his realm, his creations, and his legacy.

Amala has no choice. She can feel the darkness rising in the realm and knows her people will be the first to fall. To save her kingdom, she allows Fate to bless her unborn daughter with unimaginable magical gifts.

She can only hope that someday, her daughter will be the true sword who cleaves the darkness.

? ? ? ? ? “An intricate world that is so intriguing you won’t be able to stop reading once you start. A perfect beginning to an exciting new series.”K.A. Fox, USA TODAY Bestselling Author of The Devil’s Own & Judas Kiss

? ? ? ? ? “A worthy prequel to a truly epic saga.” – Martin Wilsey, Author of Bestselling SOLSTICE 31 SAGA
From bestselling and award-winning author D. Fischer, arrives the highly anticipated Heavy Lies the Crown, a series for fans of Throne of Glass, The Red Queen, and The Cruel Prince. The Woe of Shadows is the prequel of Heavy Lies the Crown, all based in the world of D. Fischer’s Divinus Kingdom. Divinus Kingdom is interconnecting novels that branch from one series to the next.