The Serpent and the Swan

Cygna, cursed with a swan’s wing in place of one arm, is all that stands between her home and ruination. It is a quest her step-mother hopes she won’t survive.

The kingdom is withering into a wasteland and a monster from the Underworld is making its march of destruction toward the castle. And at her coming of age, Cygna is afraid her father will force her to take the throne. Born to unconventional parentage, she is stuck between two worlds and a threat to anyone who won’t suffer an inhuman girl’s ascent to power. To prove her worth and her loyalty, and to save her family, she must challenge the Lindworm. It requires a journey to the Underworld where blood unlocks doors, magic rules, and the Fae King is under a curse of his own.


This novella is perfect for readers who wish ‘grimdark’ meant ‘Grimm-dark,’ and for fans of Neil Gaiman, Erin Morgenstern, and Scandinavian folklore. Updated for the modern reader, it twists traditional fairy tale elements with a princess who is determined to save herself.


Meet Ashland Pym

Ashland Pym made her debut in the theatre where she won a few minor awards and delighted in tormenting characters, actors, and audiences alike. After taking a break to get her MA/PhD in Myth and Psychology, she returned to fiction with a blend of dark, contemporary, and historical fantasy.

Pym has been a shepherd, a stage manager, a publisher of literary erotica (we won’t tell if you don’t), and a volunteer for collecting otter droppings. She dabbles with myth in academia, couches it into fiction, and lives it in her tiny woodland cottage in Connemara.