The Somali Doctrine

| May 4, 2013

cover

The Somali Doctrine

A lone man lies disfigured and dying by the roadside in the arid plains of northern Somalia…

Thousands of refugees are found massacred in a camp next to the Ethiopian border…

A convoy vanishes on its way to distribute food aid…

Rumours circulate that Somali militia are responsible, but Interpol agent Jim Galespi suspects the truth is even more sinister. Sent undercover to Somalia to investigate, he soon finds himself pitted against the two madmen who have taken control of Universal Action, the world’s largest NGO.

Galespi’s quest to uncover the truth about Universal Action and the unfolding tragedy in Somalia throws him into the centre of an international conspiracy that threatens to engulf Africa and the Western world.

From the deserts of Somaliland, the slums of Nairobi and the ruins of Mogadishu to the plush hotels of Cape Town all the way to the UK government in London, the race is on to stop disaster from striking again.

And again.

And again.

Intricate and fast paced, The Somali Doctrine is an intelligent thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and Ken Follet.

WARNING: THIS BOOK CONTAINS SCENES OF VIOLENCE THAT MAY UPSET SOME READERS.

About the author: After spending 15 years in the international development sector, James Grenton burst onto the thriller scene in 2011 with his debut novel, The Somali Doctrine. In James’s second novel, Black Coke, a British agent makes it his mission to bring down a fast-growing drugs cartel that has developed a genetically-modified form of cocaine. James is currently working on his next thriller, to be published later this year.

Praise from readers for James Grenton’s novels:

‘It’s the originality of the writing and the strength of the plot that really worked for me. I couldn’t put the book down!’

‘Grenton’s characters are certainly made to suffer, but this is a more grown-up affair than Ludlum’s Bourne trilogy – probably a reflection of the moral ambiguity of the modern world in contrast to the clear distinctions of the Cold War. There are no forgone conclusions here, and this is not a comfortable ride for the reader; there are some genuinely shocking moments, and it is hard not to feel tainted by the corruption and compromise of the main characters and events.’

‘A terrific thriller! I simply couldn’t put it down, the action keeps you hooked until the last scene.’

‘A real page turner – full of action and excitement throughout. I’ve not read a book so quickly in years!’

‘I really liked Grenton’s first novel, The Somali Doctrine, which I found absorbing and a great read. Black Coke is even better – far superior to the books produced by many of the blockbuster thriller writers. So go ahead and read it. You won’t regret it!’

×

Comments are closed.