Six Murders Too Many (A Carlos McCrary, Private Investigator, Mystery Thriller Series Book 1)

| January 24, 2017


The plan was perfect; all it took was two simple murders…

Then an over-zealous assassin exterminated an extra victim and things got out of hand.

Now on his first big case as a newly-minted private investigator, Carlos “Chuck” McCrary must untangle a web of fraud, arson, adultery, and murder before he becomes its next victim.

Millionaire oil man Ike Simonetti and his model-slim wife, Lorraine, arrive at Chuck McCrary’s office to claim that Ike’s stepmother is trying to steal $400,000,000 from him.

Chuck learns that while Sam Simonetti, Ike’s billionaire father, was hospitalized for his second heart attack, Sam’s two daughters from an earlier marriage died in a house fire, leaving Ike as Sam’s only child. When Sam died in the hospital, Ike was the sole heir to Sam’s estate. Or was he?

There is another contender for the fortune—a baby girl born to the dead billionaire’s hot young trophy wife (now widowed) six months after Sam’s death. The widow has staked a claim to half of Sam’s billion-dollar estate for her infant daughter Gloria.

Now Ike wants Chuck to determine the identity of Gloria’s real father and cut her out of the will.

The investigation takes Chuck from the sun-splashed beaches of South Florida to the burned-out Cleveland home of the two dead daughters. He stirs up a hornet’s nest and uncovers a triple murder.

When mob hitmen ambush Chuck, the case becomes a matter of life and death. To save his own life and that of the supposed infant heiress, Chuck must discover if one of the billionaire’s surviving family members is the real puppet master behind the murders.

Then Chuck learns that there may be two Black Widows dueling over the billionaire’s estate—willing to kill anyone who gets in their way… including an infant heiress and a nosy private investigator.

Bodies pile up as Chuck conspires to hide Gloria to keep her safe from the shadowy killer while he solves the mystery of Gloria’s paternity.

Interview with the Author

Q – What makes the Carlos McCrary series exceptional?

A – I consider myself a serious mystery and thriller fan. My novels reflect the kind of books I like to read. My top picks are usually private detective novels, any of the thousands of thrillers and mysteries best sellers, and, of course, books featuring classic heroes like Spenser (he with no first name) and Jack Reacher (who has a first name but doesn’t use it much). Basically, I like stories with a kick-butt, take-no-prisoners attitude and fast-paced action. And maybe a little sex.

The Carlos McCrary books are a great mix of these genres. The series focuses on the mystery and thriller / private investigator genre overall, with a couple of vigilante justice thrillers thrown in, some political corruption thrillers, and some organized crime and mafia involvement to keep things interesting!

Overall, I designed the series to keep you up late a night. Once you start a book, it’s hard to quit.

Q – What order should I read the books in?

A – You can read the books in any order. All the stories tie up nicely by the time you finish. If you want to read them in order, I’d suggest the following sequence:

– I’m No Hero (a prequel short story that introduces Carlos McCrary as a Green Beret in Afghanistan in the military rescue that earned him the Bronze Star medal)
– Six Murders Too Many
– Double Fake, Double Murder
– Quarterback Trap
– Day of the Tiger
– McCrary’s Justice

Q – So, why should readers try these books?

A – Because the Carlos McCrary series is a fast, fun, thrill-ride that takes no prisoners! Ultimately, readers who enjoy lightning-fast pacing with a plot that twists and turns all the way to the end will get a kick out of this series.

And thanks for reading!

Carlos McCrary Series eBook Categories:
Mystery Series
Crime Thrillers
Private Investigator Series
Private Detective Novels
Thrillers and Myster


Comments are closed.