Her Gilded Prison (Daughters of Sin Book 1)

| October 18, 2017


She was determined to secure the succession, he was in it for the pleasure. Falling in love was not part of the arrangement.

When dashing twenty-five-year-old Stephen Cranbourne arrives at the estate he will one day inherit, it’s expected he will make a match with his beautiful second cousin, Araminta.

But while proud, fiery Araminta and her shy, plain sister, Hetty, parade their very different charms before him, it’s their mother, Sybil, a lonely and discarded wife, who evokes first his sympathy and then stokes his lustful fires.

As Stephen introduces Sybil to every pleasure she’s been deprived of, duty and passion become a deep and mutual love. But with the unexpected arrival of a contender to the estate, Sybil realises that what she’s set in motion to save the family might have tragic consequences.

Her Gilded Prison is Book 1 in the Daughters of Sin series, a Regency-set ‘Dynasty’ that follows the sibling rivalry between Viscount Partington’s two nobly-born and his illegitimate daughters as they compete for love during a London Season. Her Gilded Prison can, however, be read as a stand-alone.

Book 1: Her Gilded Prison
Book 2: Dangerous Gentlemen
Book 3: The Mysterious Governess
Book 4: Beyond Rubies
Book 5: Lady Unveiled~The Cuckold Conspiracy

Heat rating: sizzling.

Author Q&A

Why should I read the Daughters of Sin series?

If you like your historical romance laced with intrigue, mystery, drama and humor you’ll enjoy the Daughters of Sin series.

Also, if you like reading about the complexities of dysfunctional families battling to conform to a rigid social code, you’ll find lots of unexpected twists and turns in the storyline as four very different sisters – two nobly born, two illegitimate – compete for love during several London seasons.

What is the series about?

Essentially each book is a romance with a Happy-for-Now ending and an espionage plot woven throughout the series.

While each book features one ‘worthy’ sister, it’s beautiful but vain and selfish Araminta who embroils her half-sisters in subterfuge and drama as she tries to extricate herself from a very big problem that occurs at the end of Dangerous Gentlemen, Book 2.

What order do I read them?

  • Her Gilded Prison (Book 1). Can be read as a stand-alone.

    The series introduces the nobly born and illegitimate daughters of Lord Partington and features the love affair between Lady Partington and the handsome young heir to her husband’s estate.

  • Dangerous Gentlemen (Book 2). Can be read as a stand-alone.

    This features the sibling rivalry between Lord and Lady Partington’s legitimate daughters, Araminta and Hetty. While it delivers the promised Happy-Ever-After for Hetty, there are serious ramifications as a consequence of Araminta’s actions, which are developed in the following books.

  • The Mysterious Governess (Book 3). Can be read as a stand-alone.

    Lissa, Lord Partington’s eldest illegitimate daughter is a talented portraitist drawn into a world of espionage through Araminta’s machinations. As a governess, she mixes with high society but from a very low rung on the social ladder.

  • Beyond Rubies (Book 4). Cannot be read as a stand-alone.

    Lord Partington’s lively and engaging daughter, Kitty, has become an actress but longs for respectability. As a demimondaine, she mixes with high society but she’s relegated to the underworld and does not enjoy the respectable status of her governess sister.

    Can readers get the books on one box set?

    The first three books are available in the Daughters of Sin Box Set, which represents a big saving.


    Comments are closed.