Silent Joe (Revised March 2013)

| August 11, 2013

cover

Silent Joe (Revised March 2013)

Edgar Award Winner, 2001; Los Angeles Times Book Prize, 2001

With the horrible scars of a childhood tragedy forever burned across his face, Joe Trona is scared in more ways than one. Rescued from an orphanage by powerful California politician Will Trona, Joe grows up to be Will’s right hand man — gopher, driver, confidante, bodyguard, fixer. When Will Trona is gunned down in a dark alley in a hail of bullets, quiet, obedient Joe vows revenge.

Looking through his father’s life Joe finds his girlfriends, his deals, his friends and enemies. And Joe realizes how many secrets his father possessed and how many people he had the power to harm. But two leads come to the surface of his private investigation — a kidnapped girl being held by her own psychotic brother, and two rival street gangs who have joined forces. The truths he learns about his father’s murder are shocking. And the final truth he hears about what happened to his own face when he was just a baby in a crib changes his life forever — and once again.

T. Jefferson Parker is a New York Times bestselling author and three-time Edgar Award winner.

“Sun-drenched L.A. noir.” — People

“Parker has written a page-turner as strong and smart as its protagonist. And, in Joe’s case, that’s saying something.” — The San Francisco Chronicle

“… an intricately layered story… perhaps Parker’s most ambitious work to date.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“It’s too bad there are no book awards for originality. If there were, this year veteran crime writer T. Jefferson Parker would win hands down thanks to the title character of his latest book, Silent Joe, a brilliantly conceived and boldly innovative hero who makes this Parker’s best work yet.” — Providence Sunday Journal

“T. Jefferson Parker’s latest California mystery is worth shouting about.” — PeopleScarred for life by a brutal father, Joe Trona found a safe haven and a loving childhood in the home of the couple who adopted him. Now he spends his days as a deputy for the Orange County sheriff’s department and his nights as a driver and aide to Will Trona, the influential politician who rescued him from the Hillside Children’s Home. An expert in firearms and the martial arts, Joe has been backing Will up for a long time. Still, his skill isn’t enough to keep Will alive, and when his father is killed right in front of Joe’s eyes, the young deputy vows to avenge him. But first he must find out how the kidnapping of a tycoon’s daughter, a scam to line the pockets of Will Trona’s political enemies, the murder of two Guatemalan immigrants, the unholy activities of a charismatic minister who’s a close friend of the Trona family, and the strange alliance of two rival L.A. gangs are connected to Will’s death.

Every secret Joe uncovers leads deeper into his beloved father’s murky past and ultimately his own. But the reader stays right with this extraordinary man as he battles his demons and ultimately vanquishes them. Author T. Jefferson Parker (The Blue Hour, Red Light, Laguna Heat) is one of the best thriller writers working today. Fans of Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane–and Raymond Chandler, for that matter–will appreciate Parker’s ability to create a complex, fascinating, and fully realized hero whose inner reality is brilliantly revealed by his actions. Will Trona is an equally intriguing invention; while ultimately he is an enigma, we remain convinced that he is worthy of his son’s devotion. Silent Joe is a mindful, intelligent novel you can’t put down. It should break Parker out with the really big boys of mystery fiction, the million-sellers with the marquee names. In fact, he’s a much better writer than most of them, and unlike many, he never tells the same story twice. –Jane AdamsEdgar Award Winner, 2001; Los Angeles Times Book Prize, 2001

With the horrible scars of a childhood tragedy forever burned across his face, Joe Trona is scared in more ways than one. Rescued from an orphanage by powerful California politician Will Trona, Joe grows up to be Will’s right hand man — gopher, driver, confidante, bodyguard, fixer. When Will Trona is gunned down in a dark alley in a hail of bullets, quiet, obedient Joe vows revenge.

Looking through his father’s life Joe finds his girlfriends, his deals, his friends and enemies. And Joe realizes how many secrets his father possessed and how many people he had the power to harm. But two leads come to the surface of his private investigation — a kidnapped girl being held by her own psychotic brother, and two rival street gangs who have joined forces. The truths he learns about his father’s murder are shocking. And the final truth he hears about what happened to his own face when he was just a baby in a crib changes his life forever — and once again.

T. Jefferson Parker is a New York Times bestselling author and three-time Edgar Award winner.

“Sun-drenched L.A. noir.” — People

“Parker has written a page-turner as strong and smart as its protagonist. And, in Joe’s case, that’s saying something.” — The San Francisco Chronicle

“… an intricately layered story… perhaps Parker’s most ambitious work to date.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“It’s too bad there are no book awards for originality. If there were, this year veteran crime writer T. Jefferson Parker would win hands down thanks to the title character of his latest book, Silent Joe, a brilliantly conceived and boldly innovative hero who makes this Parker’s best work yet.” — Providence Sunday Journal

“T. Jefferson Parker’s latest California mystery is worth shouting about.” — People

×

Comments are closed.