The Darkest Gift

A dynamic, enthralling tale of love, jealousy, rage, and the Supernatural!.
Story: When a self-loathing Gay man—Jack, meets an elegant yet incredibly mysterious Laurent Richelieu, he thinks his stroke of bad luck with men and women has come to an end. Or is it the beginning of a nightmare?
As the two begin their courtship—Jack encounters horrifying experiences involving paranormal experiences, vampirism, and possible reincarnation, making him question his sanity. The more time Jack spends with his mysterious European love interest, the more revealed about the dark secret awaiting Jack. Are they destined to be together? —does Laurent honestly care for Jack? Or is there a much more sinister plot involved?


Meet Len Handeland

I’ve always enjoyed writing and drawn to being creative—as far back as I can remember. Back in middle school, when my classmates and I were assigned a book report, and the others groaned, I cheered—not only being given an exciting novel to read but also to compose the essay assignment as well. Everything had to be perfect, the spelling, grammar, and accuracy regarding the subject matter. Later on—in my late teens, I attended FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology) in Manhattan studying illustration; years later, I decided to pursue a career in the hair industry using my artistic training at FIT and creativity to excel in hair owning three hair salons, one in San Francisco’s Union Square and two in the town of Sonoma; I am now retired from my former profession and have decided to pursue writing full time which has always been a life-long passion of mine.
My first novel, “The Darkest Gift,” is being well received and was written with my affinity and passion for the vampire genre. Its a Vampire story of my own, in my own words. This Vampire story is different then others—where love is the only thing that matters. My second novel that I recently started writing, is a crime, drama, murder, mystery, which is quite a stark departure from the genre of vampires but deals with many of the same issues and feelings as in my first novel, which is love, rage, jealousy, deception, and a character who returns from my first novel.
Len Handeland wrote “The Darkest Gift” as he felt no other author had written an enthralling vampire romance novel since Anne Rice, which was a breakthrough in featuring two vampires of the same gender as a couple. Being a life-long fan of vampires starting when he was a small child and into his adult years, Len wanted to write a compelling and enthralling book where the characters are complicated (both humans and vampires) and where the same-sex couples are far less ambiguous about their sexual orientation than in vampire books of the last century. Where the emphasis is on love, whether human and vampire or two vampires (of the same gender), it was vital for the author to avoid anything graphically sexual, but instead, the focus is on the sensual aspect of two men together. Also noteworthy was addressing stereotypes regarding vampires and some of the gay men in Len’s book. That all vampires are evil and unfeeling creatures, that all gay men are effeminate, couldn’t be further from the truth. He utilized the classic tale of good versus evil (in this case, vampire against vampire) and how one of the human characters, Jack, despite his struggles with sexual orientation, finally learns to accept and embrace who he truly is. The message the author is delivering is: do what is right and be true to yourself. In his novel, that applies not only to humans but vampires alike.
The locations in my book are places the author has an affinity for, having spent time in each over the years. Rich in history and culture, and each with an exquisite beauty of their own. The settings include Paris, Haiti, and New Orleans, which all share a French connection.
Len Handeland feels his work stands out from other “Gay vampire books” which may be too graphic sexually and reduced to being dismissed by most by being just that. At the same time, writing about the same-sex couple, whether that be two vampires or a human and a vampire, he wanted the focus to be on each character, feeling as if they had met their soul mate and were meant to be together forever.

Transgressions: Erotic Stories

A man has a threesome with his girlfriend, her beautiful, occasional lover—and her strap-on. A woman goes on a second date in a public movie theater that turns taboo when the lights go down. Two young women lose their virginities—to each other. A man searches for the “Holy Grail” (two women at once), but the actual quest they lead him on shocks, surprises, and changes him forever. In these sensual, explicit, subversive—and, at times, surprisingly humorous—stories, anything goes. Playful BDSM scenes, pegging, public sex, queer characters, gender-bending, romance, and so much more. Throw the rulebook away and unleash your wildest desires with this shameless, imaginative collection of erotic literature.

What to expect between the covers:

– Sweet, witty banter
– Sensual romance
– Playful, consent-focused pleasure
– Captivating storylines, and some that are just plain dirty fun


Meet Anna Pulley, pen name Anastasia Fleur

Anastasia Fleur is the not-very-secret pen name of Anna Pulley, the author of The Lesbian Sex Haiku Book (with Cats!), which Tegan and Sara said was “an adorable and hilarious way to start the day,” Cheryl Strayed called a “must-read,” and actress Jennifer Tilly said was “thoroughly charming.” She writes a weekly sex and dating advice column for The Chicago Tribune and been published in New York magazine, Mother Jones, The Washington Post, San Francisco magazine (the issue she contributed to won a National Magazine Award), Vice, Salon, BuzzFeed, and many others. She was also named a Top LGBTQ Writer on Medium. Her writing was excerpted/quoted in Esther Perel’s recent book, The State of Affairs. She’s been a repeat guest on Dan Savage’s podcast, Savage Love, on Daniel M. Lavery’s “Dear Prudence” podcast, and most recently on the popular 99% Invisible podcast.

Scared Shiftless

A stiletto heel through a vampire’s heart…

Who ever said you had to sacrifice fabulous for functional?

Eventually I’d find her, the one who stole my abilities.

Now I was stuck like this…

As a water elemental, everything about me before was fluid…

My shape, my gender…

Hell, I didn’t even have a gender before…

Whatever form was most appealing to my human prey… that’s the shape I’d take.

Luring my prey to my watery lair through sex appeal and alluring song…

I didn’t even know that vampires were real…

How was I supposed to know that I’d chosen a vampire as an entree?

When I was bit that damned bloodsucker stole my shape-shifting ability…

I was scared shiftless.

I’m out for more than vengeance. I want my life back. But even if I catch her, even if I kill the vampire who ruined my life… can I even take my abilities back? Or, am I destined to stay like this…forever.

Go up and click ‘Read for Free’ or ‘Buy Now’ and find out if Nyx, or “Nicky,” gets her revenge.

Scared Shiftless is the first book in the Legend of Nyx series. If you enjoy shifter urban fantasy, vampire urban fantasy, with snarky and unlikely heroes, then you’ll enjoy this vampire hunter series. Fans of Michael Anderle, Shayne Silvers, or Linsey Hall will love Theophilus Monroe’s Legend of Nyx series. Scared Shiftless is a one-of-a-kind shape shifting LGBT adventure where a trans heroine loses her powers but overcomes the odds.

Fans of Monroe’s Legacy of a Vampire Witch series met Nyx before in Bloody Mad.Now “Nicky” gets her chance at revenge… and redemption. 

Nyx is a badass, trans woman. And every vampire’s worst nightmare. 

Upcoming Releases in this Series: (Summer 2021)

Bat Shift Crazy

No Shift, Sherlock

Shift for Brains

Shift Happens


Meet Theophilus Monroe