The Algorithm Will See You Now

“I’ve been waiting for a book like this: a full-frontal assault on the dangers of artificial intelligence and the failures of our mangled health care system, all wrapped up in a clever, ripping thriller. Jennifer Lycette is an author to watch.” –Rob Hart, author of The Paradox Hotel Medical treatment determined by artificial intelligence could do more than make Hope Kestrel’s career. It could revolutionize healthcare. What the Seattle surgeon doesn’t know is the AI has a hidden fatal flaw, and the people covering it up will stop at nothing to dominate the world’s healthcare-and its profits. Soon, Hope is made the scapegoat for a patient’s death, and only Jacie Stone, a gifted intern with a knack for computer science, is willing to help search for the truth. But her patient’s death is only the tip of the conspiracy’s iceberg. The Director, Marah Maddox, is plotting a use for the AI far outside the ethical bounds of her physician’s oath. A staggering plan capable of reducing human lives to their DNA code, redefining the concepts of sickness and health, and delivering the power of life and death decisions into the hands of those behind the AI. Even if the algorithm accidentally discards some who are treatable in order to make that happen… JL Lycette’s powerful, near-future thriller, The Algorithm Will See You Now, is perfect for fans of Blake Crouch and Rob Hart.

Meet JL Lycette

Writer of feminist medical thrillers and suspense. Author of THE ALGORITHM WILL SEE YOU NOW and THE COMMITTEE WILL KILL YOU NOW Jennifer / JL Lycette is a novelist, award-winning essayist, rural physician, wife, and mom. Mid-career, she discovered narrative medicine on her path back from physician burnout and has been writing ever since. She is an alumna of the 2019 Pitch Wars Novel Mentoring program. Her first novel, The Algorithm Will See You Now, was published in March 2023. It was a 2023 SCREENCRAFT CINEMATIC BOOK COMPETITION FINALIST, 2023 READER’S FAVORITE BRONZE MEDAL WINNER in the Medical Thriller category, 2023 MAXY AWARD’S FINALIST – Thriller category, and 2023 PAGE TURNER AWARD’S FINALIST – Best Debut Novel category. The Committee Will Kill You Now is her second novel and was released November 2023. It was selected as a recommended read by The Big Thrill / International Thriller Writers.

Terror’s Sword, A Kyle McEwan Novel

Terror’s Sword “definitely satisfies as the pace never falters, the cutting-edge timely plot never stumbles and the ending delivers. A romp of a read.”
—Steve Berry, New York Times and International #1 Bestselling Author


Two dangerous weapons barrel toward each other: an anonymous revenge-fueled terrorist determined to destroy America and the only man who can stop him.

An attacker known as Terror’s Sword is heading for the U.S. with an undetermined bioweapon. When intelligence agencies fail to identify the terrorist or his bioagent, the president taps elite counterterrorism operative Kyle McEwan to hunt down the terrorist and eliminate the threat.

Tracking the terrorist across multiple continents, McEwan and U.S. special operations forces execute raids yielding crucial evidence that unmasks the terror mastermind and identifies his bioagent. Despite these discoveries, scientists conclude the genetically altered virus cannot be defeated.

Embedded terror cells and obstructive deep state factions impede McEwan’s search, increasing the likelihood of an attack on America, leaving the world to face an unprecedented pandemic threatening untold millions. Global survival rests on McEwan’s shoulders with the mastermind on the loose and his bioweapon strike imminent. Who prevails?

Following in the footsteps of iconic characters such as Clancy’s Jack Ryan, Child’s Jack Reacher, Ludlum’s Jason Bourne, and Thor’s Scot Harvath, Kyle McEwan confronts the evil forces threatening his nation and the world.

“Kuhens provides edge-of-your-seat entertainment from beginning to end. Terror’s Sword is the consummate thriller packed full of psychological one-upmanship. The author paints an action-packed picture of the real world, real locations, and real military scenarios.”
—Military Writers Society of America


Meet Kevin Kuhens

Kevin Kuhens is a retired supervisory special agent for the US Department of Defense and the author of Terror’s Sword, A Kyle McEwan Novel, the first of his thrillers involving the elite counterterrorism case officer.

A native of Louisville, Kevin began his sworn law enforcement career as a police officer in Kentucky, followed by a Federal career that spanned three decades. Kevin served as a civilian special agent for the Office of Naval Intelligence, Naval Investigative Service (now known as NCIS), and the Defense Criminal Investigative Service (DCIS). His numerous assignments crossed diverse mission areas conducting and supervising criminal, intelligence, terrorism, and task force investigations, acting as an undercover agent, directing covert operations, and performing domestic and foreign protective duties. These activities occurred inside the Beltway, throughout the US, and across some two dozen countries.

Throughout his career, Kevin supported the armed forces of the US and numerous allies during overseas combat operations and multinational peacekeeping efforts, including a one-year tour of duty aboard the aircraft carrier Independence (CV-62), and during military operations in Grenada and Beirut. Following the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, he deployed to the Pentagon to support recovery efforts there. Kevin rounded out his law enforcement career as the DCIS Director for Training at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center, where he oversaw all facets of criminal investigator training, including firearms and defense tactics, for new and experienced agents.

Kevin is currently writing the follow-on novel to his highly acclaimed debut novel Terror’s Sword. This book will be the second installment in the Kyle McEwan series.