Played to Death: A Scott Drayco Mystery

Simmering resentment in a small coastal town. A missing manuscript. A dark family secret.

Still suffering nightmares from a case that ended tragically, brilliant detective Scott Drayco considers retiring from crime solving altogether. When a former client bequeaths Drayco a rundown Opera House in a Virginia seaside town, he figures he’ll arrange for a quick sale while nursing his battered soul in a peaceful setting.

What he doesn’t foresee is finding a body on the Opera House stage with a mysterious “G” carved into the man’s chest. With hopes for a quick sale dashed and himself a suspect in the murder, Drayco digs into very old and very dangerous secrets to solve the crime and clear his name.

But to do so, he’ll have to dodge a wary sheriff, hostility over coastal development, and the seductive wife of a town councilman—before tensions explode into more violence and he becomes the next victim.


Meet BV Lawson

BV Lawson’s stories have won the Dillydoun Flash Fiction Prize, SMFS Derringer, Noir Nation Golden Fedora, and Gemini Awards. She’s also been longlisted for the New Writers Flash Competition and Fish Short Story Prize; shortlisted for Flash 500 Quarterly and Anthology Magazine short story awards; and chosen as a finalist for the Pulpfictional Flash Contest and Tucson Festival of Books Literary Competition. BV’s Scott Drayco novels have been a featured Library Journal pick and finalists for Shamus, Silver Falchion, Daphne, and Foreword Book Reviews Awards, with her eighth Drayco novel to be published this spring. She enjoys flying with her husband above the Chesapeake Bay in a little Cessna. Visit her website at bvlawson.com – no ticket required.

The Icehouse: A Lancashire Detective Mystery (DCI Walker Crime Thrillers Book 1)

After a body turns up in the sleepy village of Rufford, DCI Jonathan Walker returns from leave early. But when the crime is linked to a decades old cold case involving the murder of his sister, the crime becomes personal. “A moody, enveloping crime thriller.” (SPR Editorial Review)

Meet JJ Richards

JJ Richards lives in Lancashire, England, with his wife and young son. Although his works of fiction are exactly that – made up stories – there are times when he wonders where the line between fiction and reality exactly lies. He has yet to definitively find it, stick a flag in it, and map it out for future reference. Sign up to his newsletter at J-J-Richards.com for news of future releases and more.

The Journalist

From master storyteller John Reid Young, this is the opening book in an adventure-filled and action-packed new series that’s perfect for fans of Nick Stone and Jack Reacher.

Meet John Reid Young

ohn Reid Young was born in London’s Welbeck Street in 1957. Although he has spent most of his life in the Canary Islands, home to his paternal ancestors since the middle of the 19th century, he was educated at private schools in England and Scotland. At university he read Law and Politics and completed his studies with a Master’s degree in Diplomatic Studies. After spending time in the UK and elsewhere he returned to the Canary Islands. A family man with a Spanish wife and two sons, he enjoys nothing more than swimming in the Atlantic Ocean, hiking in the mountains and gardening. He owns Tenerife Private Tours with which he finds great pleasure meeting people from all over the world. He has provided his voice to numerous recordings. He has translated numerous documents and publications. He has published several articles and keeps an historical blog, Travel Stories in Tenerife and the Canary Islands. His collections of short stories, and his first novel, a thriller, confirm his passion fo telling a goog story.

A Fiery End (A DI Fiona Williams Mystery)

Driving home late at night, DI Fiona Williams comes across a vehicle engulfed in flames. The driver is at the wheel, oblivious to the inferno surrounding him.There is no explanation for why the vehicle was on the road or why the quiet tradesman was murdered in such a macabre way. The only witness to the fire, claims she saw nothing. Whatever she did see goes to the grave with her when she is brutally strangled. Frustration grows when the driver’s daughter disappears.With time running out to find the daughter alive, Fiona is drawn into a web of powerful men determined to keep their deadly games secret. Juggling a family crisis and a growing suspicion her boss is corrupt, her judgement is hampered by her attraction to the man central to everything.

The Invisible Body

A strange ability. A discovered corpse. But will his supernatural sleuthing skills lead him into a killer’s trap?

England, 1990. Reed has travelled his whole life in search of someone who understands him. So he’s thrilled when his journey brings him to free-spirited Zoya, who shares his rare ability to dream-walk. But after his gift leads him to a hidden corpse, he becomes the prime suspect in the murder.

Despite the setback, Reed resolves to use his power to help crack the case. 

When the real perpetrator delivers a violent threat, he’s tempted to give up, slip into his camper van and hit the road again. After all, who would miss him?

Will Reed flee the tiny seaside town and abandon his new friends – or will he risk everything to expose the murderer?

The Invisible Body is the first book of The Falling Awake Mysteries, a captivating, character-led series that blends amateur sleuth crime story with an exploration of human connection. If you like compelling characters, seaside settings and a hint of the paranormal, then you’ll love Jenny Cutts’ intriguing novel. 

Buy The Invisible Body and unravel the mystery today.


Meet Jenny Cutts

Jenny Cutts is the author of The Falling Awake Mysteries, a sophisticated cozy mystery series set in the UK. A literature graduate and former archivist with a passion for cinema, she punctuates her writing time by watching the city bustling below her window and gazing at the big skies rolling above.

Death of a False Physician

The dreadful day is approaching for the Napiers in Ballater: Hippolyta Napier’s mother is coming to stay.
But Mrs. Fettes is not just in Aberdeenshire to visit her youngest daughter: she has other reasons, and one will draw the whole family in, with deadly results. 


Meet Lexie Conyngham

Lexie Conyngham is a historian living in the shadow of the Highlands. Her historical crime novels are born of a life amidst Scotland’s old cities, ancient universities and hidden-away aristocratic estates, but she has written since the day she found out that people were allowed to do such a thing. Beyond teaching and research, her days are spent with wool, wild allotments and a wee bit of whisky.

AVENGING ANGEL: Love and Death in Old Brooklyn

A riveting tale of revenge, survival, and redemption, wrapped around an unlikely love story, and set against an urban backdrop marked by bigotry and misogyny.

Following a racially motivated rape by three Ku Klux Klansmen, 12-year-old Cassandra Monroe vows revenge. After eight years of training, now a strikingly beautiful assassin, she accomplishes her mission.

Her campaign continues with solitary walks through dark city streets, hoping to be assaulted by men with bad intentions. Those entrapped by her spider’s web pay dearly for their efforts.

Surrounded by three armed men one night, she’s rescued by Mike Borelli, an Italian-American passerby. A stormy, up-and-down relationship ensues. Ultimately, as her rage matures into purposeful action, and as he begins to see the world through her eyes, they become a team.

Along the way, they encounter serial killers, wife-beaters, actual and would-be rapists, gangsters, crooked cops, a kidnapper and a pedophile priest, as well as numerous women in desperate need of their help. Beneath all the action, though, is the blossoming of a most unlikely love story.


Meet Charles S. Isaacs

Charles S. Isaacs has been a schoolteacher, a college professor, a community organizer, a Congressional consultant, a social activist, a gambler and an occasional journalist. He has written opinion columns and feature stories for numerous newspapers and magazines, including The New York Times Magazine. During recent decades, he has been a consultant to dozens of non-profit organizations operating in the social justice arena. His recent published work includes fiction, poetry and award-winning non-fiction.

Out of a Dark Reflection

Murray’s most frightening case to date…
Letho, Fife, 1816: Murray and his guests all have good reasons for not attending Edinburgh’s winter season, even down to the new maid. But then an old woman is found dead in the village, and murmurings of witchcraft are abroad. Suddenly everyone seems to have the darkest of secrets – but who would kill to keep theirs?

Look out for A Dark Night at Midsummer – novella-length sequel to this novel.


Meet Lexie Conyngham

Lexie Conyngham is a historian living in the shadow of the Highlands. Her Murray of Letho and Hippolyta Napier novels are born of a life amidst Scotland’s old cities, ancient universities and hidden-away aristocratic estates, but she has written since the day she found out that people were allowed to do such a thing. Beyond teaching and research, her days are spent with wool, wild allotments and a wee bit of whisky.

Knowledge of Sins Past

Scotland at the beginning of the nineteenth century. Scoggie Castle is cold and grim, but a refuge to the disinherited Charles Murray. Then a series of mysterious deaths shakes family and servants alike, and splits the local village in two. Murray is thrown once more into the midst of murder, but who has the answer in this dark rural landscape – the pig-lovers or the pig-haters? 

Knowledge of Sins Past is second in the Murray of Letho Series.


Meet Lexie Conyngham

Lexie Conyngham is a historian living in the shadow of the Highlands. Her Murray of Letho and Hippolyta Napier novels are born of a life amidst Scotland’s old cities, ancient universities and hidden-away aristocratic estates, but she has written since the day she found out that people were allowed to do such a thing. Beyond teaching and research, her days are spent with wool, wild allotments and a wee bit of whisky.

Death of an Officer’s Lady

No trace: good. No way of following her.
Lt. George Murray needs his brother Charles’ help. One of his fellow officers has not heard from his wife in Edinburgh for several weeks, and he’s worried. George would go himself but Charles is only in Fife and besides, George is waiting in Belgium while a small man named Bonaparte, newly back from Elba, decides whether or not to leave Paris and fight.
But what Charles Murray finds out in Edinburgh will not be straightforward, and in the end both brothers’ lives will be in danger, in more ways than one.


Meet Lexie Conyngham

Lexie Conyngham is a historian living in the shadow of the Highlands. Her Murray of Letho novels are born of a life amidst Scotland’s old cities, ancient universities and hidden-away aristocratic estates, but she has written since the day she found out that people were allowed to do such a thing. Beyond teaching and research, her days are spent with wool, wild allotments and a wee bit of whisky.