The Seeds of Akara

“The vast cosmos isn’t what it used to be in this clever SF tale.”  -Kirkus Reviews

The universe has died.

It has reached its eventual heat death and no further life processes are possible.  

But something has gathered all the sentient life-forms that had ever reached a reasonable level of complexity and placed them in a lattice-work sphere around a final star. The truth of their existence is known to a select few, and the ultimate reason for their existence is known to fewer still.

When a nihilistic, malevolent force releases a pathogen designed to end all life, a young girl and some allies must get to the central world to keep her world from being destroyed to stop the spread of the virus. 

Book one of the New Sky trilogy is an epic adventure featuring multiple worlds and characters whose actions will determine nothing less than whether or not life continues. You’ll love the characters and adventure in this novel.

Get it now.

You can read the whole kirkus review at: kirkusreviews.com


Meet David Lapiana

A childhood sense of wonder led the author to discover the stories and deeds of the great mythological heroes. Eventually, however, Achilles, Hector, and Theseus, not to mention lesser known characters in Celtic, Germanic and Native American myths led to an enjoyment of such larger-than-life heroes as Superman, Captain America and Thor. The first actual science fiction novel read (at the age of 15) was Arthur C. Clarke’s Childhood’s End and with that the author was hooked. Through varied incarnations as a businessman, accountant, construction worker, and various sales positions the urge to write was strong, but not pursued until reaching his fifties.

The Stagsblood Prince (Book One of the Stagsblood Trilogy)

Tel, handsome crown prince of Feigh, has negotiated an end to the war between his country and the strange queendom of Omela. He looks forward to an easy reign of wild parties and wilder men. The deities have other ideas, however, in this gay fantasy novel of transformation, redemption, and love. 

When his father dies suddenly, Tel is outmaneuvered by his brother, losing the throne. Tel’s faith prohibits him from raising his sword and spilling blood, so he accepts the humiliation, working to temper his brother’s baser impulses. But the new king’s reign takes a dark turn, and his collaborators begin to round up undesirables, including those with a magic called the stagsblood.

Tel must decide: Flee or fight? Running means abandoning his people to his brother’s evil whims. Standing his ground means the sin of total war. He has no army and only a few allies—and his magical secret.

Caip, his closest friend and protector, brings military experience and blunt advice. Her right hand, Dar, is the picture of loyalty. Tough, battle-scarred Bin doesn’t suffer fools gladly. And Vared, a mysterious singer-turned-diplomat from Omela, speaks the truth to Tel in ways no one else can.


Meet Gideon E. Wood

Gideon E. Wood writes gay fantasy fiction. He has been proudly clean and sober since 2011. Second chances and transformation are at the heart of his work. Gideon lives in New England with his cat but thinks it’s important you know he isn’t a cat person.

You can find him on social media @gideonewood or email him: [email protected]

Ainavel: Episode 1 – The Curse of Two Houses

cover

As the old tale says, two powerful Houses ruled all of Erydan once. Their representatives protected northern borders from the creatures of the Chaos. The unknown evil destroyed this order many centuries ago.

Now the sun is dying and the Mysterious Void is circling around the Five Lands of Erydan. The chaos is rising. However, the most powerful descendants of the Two Houses don’t think about uniting their forces and still quarrel with each other.

If the prophecy is true – only the lost heirs from the noble Houses can change the fate of the world. A man from the House Alvedrion and a girl from the House Lohelin who are connected by a strong bond.

But mysterious curse keepers haunt all living descendants.

Young Ainavel, who sails with his father, an experienced Guardian of the Sea, lives like ordinary Sea Man. He doesn’t know yet that he will have to face these evil creatures one day. He also doesn’t know that he will be forced to embark on a dangerous adventure – a death game that will change him forever.

SECOND EDITION. First 40 pages of this episode were earlier published as a novelette. But now it has become a part of a new, longer episode 1.

The Chronicles of Agartha: Book 1 – The Green Boy

cover

The fate of two worlds rests on the shoulders of a few unsuspecting souls.

Inner Earth, Agartha, a land where the color of your Aura defines you, losing the entire population of green aura people to the war left a visible void. 

Ethan, a fourteen-year-old young man, discovers he has a green aura, the last of an extinct race. He leaves the school of Nafoura in search of the truth about the fate of the greens, and to find a home to call his own.

Joined by a girl from our earth, and an exiled shapeshifter, Ethan must race to the Chronicler of Agartha in search of answers. 

But Ethan has a mark on his head by the very woman who decimated his people, doggedly chasing after him for nefarious reasons of her own.

Ethan must walk a thin line to get his answers, inadvertently stepping into the web of a prophecy he knows nothing about, one which may lead to salvation, or to a promise of doom for his and our world.

If you liked His Dark Materials, The inheritance Cycle, Mistborn, and The Dark is Rising, you will love The Chronicles of Agartha.

The Saxon Spears

cover

The old world is burning down
A hero will rise from its ASH.

Thirty years have passed since Britannia voted to throw off the Roman yoke. Now, the old world crumbles. 

Pirates roam the seas, bandits threaten the highways, and barbarian refugees land at Britannia’s shores, uninvited. The rich profit from the chaos, while the poor suffer. A new Dark Age is approaching – but all is not lost.

Ash is a Seaborn, a Saxon child found on the beach with nothing but a precious stone at his neck and a memory of a distant war from which his people have fled. Raised on the estate of a Briton nobleman, trained in warfare and ancient knowledge, he soon becomes embroiled in the machinations and intrigues at the court of Wortigern, the Dux of Londinium, a struggle that is about to determine the future of all Britannia. 

A child of Saxon blood, an heir to Roman family, his is a destiny like no other: to join the two races and forge a new world from the ruins of the old.

The Saxon Spears is the first volume of the Song of Ash saga, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell’s “The Last Kingdom” series, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden. 

Shadow Eclipse Voyage

cover

From 21st century PhD student to 23rd century vampire space mercenary, Clarke’s had a busy week.

Discovering you are a vampire would normally be the most notable thing in someone’s day. For Florentina Clarke, it gets narrowly edged out when an experiment traps her 200 years into the future. Enlisting as a mercenary on a smuggling vessel that seems to spend more time seeking fights than actually smuggling is an unusual career move for a PhD student. But when you have no money, no ID and the yakuza want a quiet word about a completely honest misunderstanding then perhaps poor life choices are the only life choices.

Okay, so you do have to deal with pirate attacks, a surely captain that refuses to meet you, a ship’s armory that seems to have far too many stakes in it, Orcish squad-mates who keep drinking the illicit coffee you are trying to smuggle, more pirate attacks, your own (future) self who is involving you in her own machinations and an irritating, but magnetic, vampire lover whose personal quest for vengeance has already gotten him killed once.

Shadow Eclipse: Voyage is the first book in the Shadow Eclipse series, following the adventures of Florentina Clarke across time and space.

‘Star trek, but with time-travelling space vampires.’