Three Wise Men

The answers to those profound questions about the Universe, Time, the Origin of Life and are we alone or not? Synopsis Most science books are hard work! So, this is a fact book with a fictional twist. It sets out to make science and religion more understandable and enjoyable to read, plus hopefully pose a few thought provoking insights along the way. It’s a novel way of explaining the science behind those profound questions we ponder on occasionally: What are the origins of the Universe and life? Are we alone in the Universe? When did Time begin? Does God exist? Is there an afterlife? To make the science, which explores questions, more palatable, the scientific facts are presented as a dialogue between three fictional friends, who give factual commentaries on the above questions with a little humor added into the mix. The narrative is set mainly in a Manhattan bar where the three friends meet every Friday after work. As a change of scenery, the friends also spend weekends at a hunting lodge. The diverse social background of the three main characters; an investment banker with a scientific background, a pious Catholic of Irish descent and a down-to-earth Italian plumber, together with the insights given by the female proprietor of the bar, allows for a balance of views and opinions: from academic, religious and pragmatic perspectives on life. Each chapter covers one of these profound questions, starting with the existence of God which naturally leads on to the reasons why people are religious. Having challenged the rationale behind religion, the book then counterbalances this with chapters on the origin, size and the end of the Universe. This then leads onto discussions on the link between space and time. The natural progression from the Universe and time leads onto a chapter on the origin of life including the possibility of life elsewhere. Finally, there’s a historical perspective on death and burials.

Meet Lou Bavou

Lou Bavou is a unique new voice in the world of science books. With a strong education in math, physics and chemistry, he graduated with an honors degree from Birmingham University, UK. After a long career as a consultant engineer to the energy industry running his own small consultancy company with extensive travel and work around North America, Europe, Russia and Asia; learning about the local cultures and history, Lou recently decided to change direction and take-up his writing full-time. During his travels he has rubbed shoulders with oil rig ‘bears’, negotiated with Arabic oil ministers and been tailed by the Iraqi secret service and still found time to write numerous professional reports, papers and guidelines for the energy industry. Nowadays, when he’s not researching his keen interests in astronomy and astrobiology, he spends time running a small holding. He still travels and has wild camped in the Sahara Desert, ice skated on the highest rink in the world in Kazakhstan, sheltered from major cyclones in China and Sri Lanka – and they say lightening never strikes twice, once nearly drowned in the River Thames and survived his wife’s meatballs, but still lives with her on the outskirts of SW London with their children of all ages.

Progress Report

AN ALIEN ARTIFACT. AN ACCIDENTAL DISCOVERY. A LOOMING NUCLEAR APOCALYPSE. Art is a computer geek and retro electronics aficionado who just wants to be left alone. When he stumbles upon an alien artifact, he can’t help but try and find out its purpose. Instead, he finds himself in over his head, in the midst of what might just turn out to be the end of the world, and nobody except him knows the truth. A truth that certain factions don’t want to get out – at any cost. It’s not paranoia when self-driving cars are out to get you. Can Art survive the hunt, and maybe save the world in the process? Progress Report is a near-future technothriller for fans of Ready Player One, Daemon, and Bobiverse. It’s packed with action, humor, and a sense of the profound that will linger long after you’ve turned the last page.

Meet Roman Lando

Roman, the author of Progress Report, is a composer, musician, web and new media designer, and positively has too many passions, interests, and hobbies in his life. When he’s not writing books or music, he can be found sailing, playing keys in a prog rock band, flying his drones, building crazy flight simulation rigs, and LARPing. His lifelong love and passion for hard Sci-Fi take a special place in his heart. Reading was never enough. The only way to satisfy this obsession was to write his debut novel. He hopes to share his love for true Science Fiction, along with his interest in history, science, philosophy, and technology, with his readers. After living in three countries on three continents and speaking three languages, Roman has finally settled in Toronto where he lives with his wife and two daughters. No dogs or cats are involved – his drones are his pets. He is now working on his second novel.

Jackson the Space Dog Issue #1 of an ongoing adventure series.

Jackson the Space Dog is a quirky, and ridiculous mix of talking animals, strange worlds and ridiculous circumstances that would best be described as, “What?!” Jackson the Space Dog is heavily inspired by comedy movies of the 80’s like Airplane, The Naked Gun, or Young Frankenstein. Jackson the Space Dog is a talking dog who travels the cosmos in his spaceship shaped like an electric guitar. He travels to different worlds and sometimes battles vacuu-bots (evil vacuum cleaners) sent from his arch nemesis, Appendix. Jackson is accompanied on his adventures by his ship mates who include: Kevin, a dolphin from the planet Kevin who only says, “Hey” or “The Building!” Matt, a yellow bunny that Jackson always mistakenly refers to as Skippy. And Nichelle, a penguin named after the great Nichelle Nichols. Jackson also jams with The Barking Spiders who hail from the eighth dimension and comprise his back up band. He has recorded a full album of 18 songs including titles like, “Guess What? Chicken Butt,” “The Earth is Round,” and “How Many Times Do You Fart in a Year?” Some of these songs can be heard on Jacksons Youtube channel “Jackson Animation.” Jackson also has a line of action figures for the character Admiral Potato available at any grocery store.

Meet Peter Griffin

Peter Griffin is brand new to creating graphic novels. He has been creating 3D animation for two Youtube channels “Mr. Griffin’s Math World” and “Jackson Animation” for several years now. Both channels feature Jackson the Space Dog, a talking dog who lives on a spaceship shaped like an electric guitar. Currently Peter Griffin teaches 8th grade math and records rock music that is performed by Jackson the Space Dog.

The 13th Vote

On a distant world, in a not-too-distant future, Alyn Frederick Jr. arrives home from college and is shocked by his father’s murder. Alyn hasn’t a clue as to who killed him or why, but even more puzzling, finds himself as the main suspect. A forlorn detective, employing a rapidly developing A.I., partners with an idealistic journalist to find answers. They uncover a grand conspiracy, orchestrated by a powerful politician, who aims to radically transform society, but must trigger an interplanetary civil war to do it. Alyn must discover a dark truth about his family’s legacy if he is to clear his name and prevent the genocide. And the key to it all, is his grandfather’s wristwatch. 


Meet Brendan Gavin

Brendan is a book-lover, curator of ideas and a keen observer of our human condition, who has combined these with his passion for vintage time pieces, and finally wrote the book he was always wanted to read.

Noctilucents 1: Martian Blood

Noctilucents 1: Martian Blood - ASIN B088QLSFWT

When the Prometheus exploded, everything changed. The ship was meant to retrieve a team of colonists from Mars. Instead, it ushered in a decade of chaos and left the colonists stranded.

For all sixteen years of his life, Tom has known nothing but the red dirt of Mars and the cramped research base he calls home. That and stories of Earth, a silent blue dot in his sky. As the base’s resources dwindle and tensions between the surviving colonists run high, Tom makes a promise to himself: he’ll get to Earth or die trying.

Sophia Kasparov, daughter of the AI expert behind the Prometheus, triggers a global media frenzy when she accidentally reveals her father’s plans to launch a rescue mission to Mars. Support for the controversial mission is hard to come by, especially when it’s opposed by the ruthless anti-spaceflight eco-fundamentalist Cita Stone. As Sophia struggles to navigate the political chaos surrounding the mission, she uncovers a fifteen-year-old mystery that could change everything – the truth about the Prometheus disaster – and discovers that her father will risk everything for his plans, even her.

[aawp fields=”B088QLSFWT” value=”button”]

The Titan Sky

cover

A company is poised to gain global power. Three civilian volunteers compete for the job of making the trip to a distant planet where they will claim mining rights for a rare and precious material. As they train for the dangerous mission, internal and outside forces seek to gain access to them. Some want to steal the cutting-edge technology, others to corrupt candidates and sabotage the mission. Competitors race to launch their own ships, but only McKinnon Ventures has Dex, a mining robot driven by extraordinary artificial intelligence created by a haughty technology prodigy. The selected volunteer will earn millions and the everlasting fame, but won’t get the chance to enjoy either prize. The mission calls for only Dex to return. For the human, it’s a one-way trip. To succeed, they must work together, as neither can complete the mission on their own.The outcome could change the global balance of power, and impact billions of lives. Everything depends on what occurs under The Titan Sky.