MysticMagic Land

NEW RELEASE! There isn’t much to do in the small west Texas town of Goat Horn, except work in the shops, motels, and restaurants that serve the patrons of the beloved theme park known as MysticMagic Land. For five friends – Roxie, Eddie, Westie, Allie, and Stoney – the huge park is their one respite from a boring life in Goat Horn, until they discover there is more to MysticMagic Land than they ever knew. Sometimes, it seems, ghosts and creatures are not just special effects. At first, there’s nothing cooler than having real ghosts at your favorite theme park. But if those ghosts are causing enough trouble to close the place down permanently, the five decide they have to do something about it… even when they’ve never stepped up to face anything before. MysticMagic Land is a light and humorous urban fantasy novella. It is Book One in the upcoming Haunted Theme Park series and is suitable for readers of all ages. No part of this book was created using artificial intelligence (AI) software of any kind.

Meet Janeen O’Kerry

Like many who end up being writers, I’ve worked at many different jobs: riding instructor, horse trainer, computer programmer, and medical transcriptionist. I began my writing career in the early 1980s with articles for several national and regional horse magazines. My friend Hazel wanted to break into writing novels, so together we wrote three: A *Star Trek* novel; a steamy romance; and, finally a sweet romance called *April’s Christmas.* April got us started when Avalon published that book in 1994. After that I sold my own first novel, the historical romance *Lady of Fire,* to Dorchester Publishing in 1995. That was the start of the eleven-volume *Celtic Journeys* series, each of which is a romance set in ancient Ireland and tells a complete story. Today I am a full-time novelist, ghostwriter, and copy editor, and I never use artificial intelligence (AI) software of any kind when creating my books. I can often be found doing workshops and panels at writers’ events and conventions.

The Spirit Hollows

An inventor and an assistant undertaker against all the spirits in the Hollows.

Quinn dreams of leaving his dreary job at his mother’s funeral home for a life of adventure. His half-sister Zora plans to prove what a brilliant scientist she is–and settle a secret grudge. Together, they set out to fight the spirits that have roamed the Hollows ever since the Great Wakening.

As Zora and Quinn hunt by night in the graveyards and forests of what was once Old Appalachia, they clash with one another and compete against a mysterious rival. But when a shadowy cult and an ancient, otherworldly enemy start trying to murder them, the young spirit-hunters must scramble to uncover the hidden past of the Hollows and dig up long-buried family skeletons.

If Zora and Quinn fail, they’ll find worse things waiting for them in the dark.

A spooky steampunk Young Adult novel for fans of Stranger ThingsMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, and Cherie Priest.


Meet P. R. Brewer

P. R. Brewer grew up on a fish farm in Rowan County, Kentucky, a short hike away from Cave Run Lake and a winding drive away from Clack Mountain (the site of sinister rituals, according to local legend). He currently lives in Delaware with his wife Barbara and their two children. In his day job as a professor, he teaches and writes about science and the media. His nonfiction work has appeared in National Geographic, Skeptical Inquirer, and various arcane journals. He spends his free time watching scary movies and playing D&D.

Gazetteer of British Ghosts

cover

The classic inaugural work by the well-known British ‘ghost hunter’ Peter Underwood (1923-2014), which can now be read in conjunction with a specially created ‘Gazetteer of British Ghosts’ GoogleMap, as well as ‘The Ghostly Gazetteer’, a WordPress blog dedicated to hunting down illustrations to all 236 sites contained in the book.

First published in 1971, and republished under the title ‘The A-Z of British Ghosts’ in the 1990s, this work represents the first attempt to offer a systematic survey of uncanny accounts of ghostly happenings throughout Britain, ranging from legendary to real-life experiences.

This newly revised ‘pure digital’ edition has been updated with information about the current status of each site, and each account has been further revised for greater clarity and ease of reading, following in Underwood’s footsteps in terms of his style, as well as in his aim of making each account as interesting and readable to the reader as possible.

You can read about famous haunted houses such as Borley Rectory, Hampton Court and Glamis Castle, as well as lesser known hauntings such as those associated with Woburn, Bury St Edmunds, and the Gargoyle Theatre in London’s Soho.

This new edition also includes a foreword by Underwood’s son Christopher, as well as an afterword by author Alan Williams, followed an interview Williams conducted with Underwood in 1997.

‘Every single entry has been reconsidered for today’s readership – to bring Underwood’s original accounts into the present – to enliven them and carry on his original endeavour to present them to the reader in the most accessible and readable way’ – Adam Underwood – Editor of the ‘Revised Edition’.

‘I read Peter Underwood, book after book, year after year and I hope that I am able to make my own readers feel that way about my own.’ – Alan Williams, author of The Seance Parlour (2013)