Played to Death: A Scott Drayco Mystery

Simmering resentment in a small coastal town. A missing manuscript. A dark family secret.

Still suffering nightmares from a case that ended tragically, brilliant detective Scott Drayco considers retiring from crime solving altogether. When a former client bequeaths Drayco a rundown Opera House in a Virginia seaside town, he figures he’ll arrange for a quick sale while nursing his battered soul in a peaceful setting.

What he doesn’t foresee is finding a body on the Opera House stage with a mysterious “G” carved into the man’s chest. With hopes for a quick sale dashed and himself a suspect in the murder, Drayco digs into very old and very dangerous secrets to solve the crime and clear his name.

But to do so, he’ll have to dodge a wary sheriff, hostility over coastal development, and the seductive wife of a town councilman—before tensions explode into more violence and he becomes the next victim.


Meet BV Lawson

BV Lawson’s stories have won the Dillydoun Flash Fiction Prize, SMFS Derringer, Noir Nation Golden Fedora, and Gemini Awards. She’s also been longlisted for the New Writers Flash Competition and Fish Short Story Prize; shortlisted for Flash 500 Quarterly and Anthology Magazine short story awards; and chosen as a finalist for the Pulpfictional Flash Contest and Tucson Festival of Books Literary Competition. BV’s Scott Drayco novels have been a featured Library Journal pick and finalists for Shamus, Silver Falchion, Daphne, and Foreword Book Reviews Awards, with her eighth Drayco novel to be published this spring. She enjoys flying with her husband above the Chesapeake Bay in a little Cessna. Visit her website at bvlawson.com – no ticket required.

The Death of Knowledge

In a world where artistic expression is banned, a series of murders presents a servant girl turned sleuth with a chance to discover her creativity and fulfil her destiny. From author Lou Collins, comes a new amateur sleuth mystery with a dystopian twist for fans of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple, Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose, Midsomer Murders and Death in Paradise. Deadly knowledge. A killer on the loose. She’s ‘maid’ a fatal mistake… As a second-generation servant, the Great Library of Scolaris is the only home Quill has ever known, a place of refuge after her father left town following her mother’s tragic death. Seemingly, her unusual world is perfect. A utopia built on pursuing knowledge for the common good. Every citizen assigned a role, content with their lot. But, when Quill stumbles on a body and her master’s arrested for murder, life turns upside down. Determined to keep her job and a roof over her head, she bravely sets out to clear his name and protect the family they’ve created. Discovering nothing is as perfect as it seems; can she unravel a tangle of cocktail-crazy trophy wives, dense detectives, theft and blackmail to find the truth before it’s too late? And with all that deadly knowledge at her fingertips, will her world ever look the same? If you love luxurious worldbuilding and a twist and turn, everyone’s a suspect whodunit with a one of a kind heroine, oddball suspects and a cunning adversary, you will love The Death of Knowledge.

Meet Lou Collins

Lou grew up in Essex, England, reading Swallows and Amazons, the Chronicles of Narnia and Lord of the Rings. Tales which sparked a passion for mystery and adventure. Uniquely influenced by a touch of legal wizardry, her writing also weaves together the echoes of classic mystery writers like Agatha Christie and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In Lou’s cozy and not-so-cozy mysteries, you’ll encounter a vibrant cast of quirky characters, cunning puzzles, and unexpected twists that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Prepare to be swept away by Lou’s wicked sense of humour as her tales unfold at a thrilling pace, leaving you grinning from ear to ear. When Lou isn’t immersed in the world of storytelling, she finds joy in ballet and theatre trips. And, in a spirited plea against the pointless and mundane, she invites you to join her one-woman-crusade to defeat ironing!